Image Courtesy: Twitter

Today, seven Hong Kong democracy campaigners were sentenced to up to 12 months in jail for their role in a protest last year against a sweeping national security law imposed by China. All seven have been accused of organizing the unauthorized assembly on July 1, 2020, when thousands of protesters took to the streets and the police units had to fired tear gas to disperse the crowd. The police had banned the protest citing COVID-19 restrictions.

According to sources, the list included activists, Figo Chan, a former convenor of the now-disbanded Civil Human Rights Front (CHRF); Tsang Kin-Shing and Tang Sai-lai of the League of Social Democrats; former district councilor Andy Chui; and former legislators Wu Chi-wai, Eddie Chu and Leung Kwok-hung. Chan was jailed for 12 months, while others were sentenced for six to ten months.

On June 30, 2020, Beijing had imposed a national security law in response to widespread anti-government protests in 2019 that roiled the city. The law could punish subversion, secession, terrorism, and collusion with foreign forces. The protest broke out the next day, and nearly 370 people were arrested.

Tong Ying-kit, the first person convicted under the national security law, was sentenced in July to nine years in prison for terrorist activities and inciting secession.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here