Today, for the third consecutive term, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal has been elected as the Aam Aadmi Party’s National Convenor. In the National Executive meeting of AAP conducted today, the officials approved the name of Kejriwal as their party’s convenor.

In the meeting of the National Council held in January 2021, the party’s constitution was amended. In this amendment, the tenure of the National Convenor was increased from 3 years to 5 years. The amendment made at that time was the compulsion to appoint the National Convenor up to two terms was abolished.

In the meeting, 34 members of the party’s National Executive who were elected in the National Council meeting approved Kejriwal’s name. The National Executive of the party has the power to elect the party’s national convenor.

Back in April 2016, CM Kejriwal was appointed as the National Convenor of the party for the second time. In his second term as national convenor, he served for 3 years. However, due to the Lok Sabha elections in 2019 and the Delhi Assembly elections in 2020, Arvind’s tenure was extended till 2020. Keeping in mind the global pandemic in 2020, the meeting of the National Council of the Aam Aadmi Party could not be conducted.

Now, Kejriwal will be the National Convenor of the Aam Aadmi Party for the next 5 years. The meeting also witnessed the appointment of the National Executive, the party’s National Secretary, and the National Treasurer. Pankaj Gupta has been re-elected as the National Secretary of the Aam Aadmi Party, ND Gupta as the National Treasurer.