Representational Image

NEW DELHI: The Center has established the national council for transgender persons, headed by the Union social justice minister and involving delegates from 10 central divisions, five states and members from the community. The committee – India’s first and foremost under Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Act, 2019 – was reported in a journal issued late on Friday.

As indicated by the enactment, the committee has five primary functions-advising the central government on the formulations of policies, projects, enactment and ventures concerning transgender persons; scanning and assessing the impact of policies and programmes intended for accomplishing equity and full participation of transgender persons; inspecting and planning the exercises of all the divisions; redressing grievances of transsexual people, and performing such different functions as prescribed by the Center.

The board will have joint secretary-level members from the ministries of health, home, minority issues, education, rural development, labour and law. What’s more, there will be a member of the division of pensions, Niti Aayog, National Human Rights Commission and National Commission for Women.

Delegates from five states or Union Territories, on a rotational premise, will be members of the commission. The first such clutch contains Jammu and Kashmir, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Tripura and Gujarat. Five members from the community and five specialists, from non-governmental associations, have likewise been named to the commission.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here