Today, the results of the Gujarat municipal polls will be announced. Under heavy security and strict COVID-19 protocols, the counting of votes for 575 seats in six municipal corporations is underway but the celebrations begin after BJP crossed the majority in Vadodara.

As per the latest update, in Bhavnagar, BJP won 15 seats, 24 in Rajkot, and 45 in Vadodara, 32 in Jamnagar. Contesting the municipal polls in the state for the first time, Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) managed to win 4 seats. BSP also won 3 seats in Jamnagar.

Congress grabbed 5 seats in Jamnagar, 5 in Bhavnagar, and 7 in Vadodara. In Surat, BJP takes a big lead as it is leading in 40 out of 120 seats. The second position has been taken by AAP with 18 leads. Congress managed to win 10 seats.

Across six civic bodies, Ahmedabad, Surat, Rajkot, Vadodara, Bhavnagar and Jamnagar – polling for 576 seats in 144 wards was held on Sunday and the average voter turnout was recorded nearly 46.08 percent.

Municipal Corporation across 48 wards in Ahmedabad has 192 seats, 30 wards in Surat has 120 seats, 19 wards of Vadodara has 76 seats, 18 wards in Rajkot has 72 seats, 13 wards in Bhavnagar has 52 seats and 16 wards in Jamnagar consists 64 seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here