• Kohli won the Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade and Men’s Player of the Decade.
  • Dhoni won the Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade.
  • Ellyse Perry of Australia won in three out of four categories for women.

Today, at the ICC awards, from India, MS Dhoni won the ICC Spirit of Cricket of the Decade award and Virat Kohli won the International Cricket Council (ICC) Men’s ODI Player of the Decade award. Also, as the winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers Award for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Decade, Kohli was chosen.

In Test, ODI, and T20I categories, he was also nominated for the Player of the Decade award. While Rashid Khan of Afghanistan won the ICC T20I Player of the Decade award; Steve Smith of Australia was chosen for the ICC Men’s Test Player of the Decade award.

In a release, ICC said, “MS Dhoni won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade, chosen by fans unanimously for his gesture of calling back former England batter Ian Bell following a disputable runout at Trent Bridge in 2011.”

For women, Ellyse Perry of Australia won in three out of four categories, which was ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade, ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade and last but not the least ICC Female Cricketer of the Decade.

Kyle Coetzer and Kathryn Bryce of Scotland won the ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Decade and the ICC Women’s Associate Cricketer of the Decade, respectively.

Earlier in 2017 and 2018, Kohli won the ICC Cricketer of the Year award for scoring 20,396 runs across formats in the past decade. While 4349 runs were scored and 213 wickets were picked up by Perry across formats over the past decade.

Over the past decade, from 69 Tests 7040 runs were scored by Smith with 26 centuries at an average of 65.79 while during the decade, from 48 matches with an economy rate of 6.14 runs per over, 89 wickets were picked up by Rashid at 12.62.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here