Collected Photo

New Delhi: An epochal win India witnessed on June 25, 37 years ago when Indian Cricket Team headed by all-rounder, Kapil Dev won at Lord’s defeating Clive Lloyd’s West Indies who were winners of two times then. The World Cup quenched the thirst of Indians when India lifted their first-ever cricket World Cup title. Dream of Indian Cricket turned true.

India’s World Cup final playing XI included Sunil Gavaskar, K Srikkanth, Mohinder Amarnath, Yashpal Sharma, SM Patil, Kapil Dev (c), Kirti Azad, Roger Binny, Madan Lal, Syed Kirmani, and Balwinder Sandhu. It elevated Cricket to Religion in India where children’s dream to opt this career became a dream.

West Indies won the toss and opted to bowl first. India bowled out for 183 in 54.5 overs. Besides Kris Srikanth who top-scored a knock of 38 runs, no other batsmen managed to go past the 30-run mark.

Later, the  Indian team proved they were the “Dark Horses” and the Caribbean was reduced to 76/6 and India won by 43 runs. Mohinder Amarnath took the final wicket of Michael Holding to give India its first-ever World Cup title win becoming “the Man of the Match”.

It was a symbolic change, players became superstars, endorsements began to flow in, corporates began to see the sport as a well-oiled marketing machine. This win forever changed the face of the Indian Cricket. New heroes emerged and pots of trophies were. Later, India in 2011 when MS Dhoni captained the 2011 team to win their second title after 28 years.

Website | + posts

Global Tribune : News 24 X 7
National News , International News, Regional News, Political News, Social News, Sports News, Crime News, Entertainment News, Fashion News and Many More ...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here