Trinamool Congress leader, Mamata Banerjee is all ready to swear in as the CM of West Bengal on 5th May for her 3rd term, Senior TMC leader and minister Partha Chatterjee announced on Monday. TMC has won a landslide victory, defeating BJP in the West Bengal Assembly elections 2021.

Bannerjee will meet WB governor Jagdeep Dhankar who will hand over the state’s authority to her. “Congratulated @MamataOfficial’s party’s win in West Bengal assembly elections. Tomorrow at 7 pm, the honorable CM will be calling on me at Raj Bhawan,” the governor tweeted on Sunday evening.

Though TMC garnered a massive win, Mamata lost her competing constituency Nandigram to her BJP contender Suvendu Adhikary. Suvendu got 1956 votes. Banerjee initially accepted the people’s decision but later announced that she will challenge the result in the Supreme Court after the ECI rejected her petition for recounting.

TMC was able to secure its win on 213 out of the state’s 294 assembly seats, whereas BJP won 77. The counting was only held for 292 seats since counting for 2 seats will be held later. CM Mamata had taken control of Bengal for the first time in 2011 after defeating the left which ruled for 34 years and has followed suit since.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here