On Tuesday, the President of Turkey, Recep Tayyip Erdogan announced that he is preparing to seek parliamentary approval for the accord next month. Turkey is the only G-20 country that is yet to ratify the Paris Agreement. The announcement was made by him at the United Nations General Assembly in New York. By this step, it will end a years-long struggle over the absolute emissions reduction targets.

The sudden decision of Turkey follows assurance from the UK which assured that Turkey will not be required to provide any financial contributions. Nick Bridge, the UK’s special envoy for climate change mentioned that the nation expressed its desire to work with Turkey.

“We are one of the first countries to sign the Paris Climate Agreement. However, we have not yet put this agreement into effect due to the unfairness of obligations,” Erdogan told the UN before announcing Turkey’s decision. “We plan to submit the Paris Climate Agreement for the approval of our parliament next month, in line with the constructive steps to be taken and within the framework of our national contribution statement.”

Erdogan’s ruling AK Party has a commanding majority in the parliament together with its nationalist ally and is aiming to ratify the agreement before the COP26 meeting, which will run from October 31 to November 12 in Glasgow. Turkey is one of six signatory states that have not ratified the agreement. Other include, Eritrea, Iran, Iraq, Libya, and Yemen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here