On Wednesday, Russia has successfully launched its unmanned space freighter cargo ship that carried supplies to the International Space Station from the Baikonur cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

At 02:27 am Moscow time (2327 GMT), the Soyuz rocket carrying the Progress spacecraft was launched from the Kazakh steppes and has reached its target orbit.

On Friday, the automatic docking with the ISS is planned to take place at 04:02 am Moscow time (0102 GMT). Over 470 Kg of fuel, 420 litres of water, and various other supplies have been carried by the Progress spacecraft MS-17.

Four years earlier, Russia has launched its first satellite Sputnik 1, and is well-known for having sent the first man into space in 1961. The country has remained a major national pride for its achievements but over the past few decades, the country has endured a series of setbacks particularly has lost expensive satellites and Progress supply ships.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here