On Wednesday, BS Yediyurappa-led cabinet was inducted by seven new ministers in Karnataka. MTB Nagaraj, Umesh Katti, Aravind Limbavali, Murugesh Nirani, R Shankar, CP Yogeshwar, and Angara S had taken oath for the same. The names of the ministers were announced a day before by Yediyurappa in a bid to expand his 17-month old cabinet.

He also noted that one berth will be kept vacant for excise minister as H Nagesh will be dropped from the ministry. Retaliating to the situation Nagesh told that if he is forced to leave, he will revolt. After the Karnataka CM met Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Sunday at the latter’s residence in Delhi, the much-awaited decision was taken regarding the expansion. The meeting was also attended by BJP National President JP Nadda and the party’s in-charge for Karnataka, Arun Singh.

Many Karnataka BJP legislators expressed serious reservations about MLCs not being elected. They expressed their dissatisfaction over the lack of representation as most of the minister’s origins from the Belagavi districts and Bengaluru. They also said that their “seniority or sacrifice” is not at all being considered.

CM has been accused by Vijayapura City MLA Basanagouda Patil Yatnal of making appointments under blackmail, without considering seniority or honesty. He further accused him of ‘hijacking’ the BJP in Karnataka. He further urged PM Modi to end dynastic politics from Yediyurappa’s family.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here