Today, Sushil Chandra has been appointed as the ’24th Chief Election Commissioner’. The news comes after the ex-CEC officer, Sunil Arora resigned from his post. Chandra’s office will come to an end on May 14, 2022.

Previously on February 14, 2019, Chandra had been appointed as an election commissioner. Under him, the Election Commission (EC) will hold Assembly polls in Goa, Manipur, Uttarakhand, Punjab, and Uttar Pradesh. Reportedly, the term of UP assembly will end on May 14, 2022. Similarly, the term of assemblies in the remaining offices will end in March 2022.

Speaking of the new CEC, Chandra belongs to the 1980 batch of the Indian Revenue Service. Adding to this, he is also an ex-officio member of the Delimitation Commission since February 18, 2020. Chandra is currently looking after the process in the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir. Back in 2016, he was appointed as the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) Chairman.

Addressing the media, the Commission highlighted the two main elements for a free and fair electoral process, i.e., ‘transparency’ and ‘purity of political finance’. “Continuing the crusade that he started as CBDT Chairman against the menace of black money, Chandra was proactive as the erstwhile Election Commissioner in curbing the use of money power that vitiates the electoral process,” the Commission said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here